Australia's Commonwealth Games Hockey Draws Released

Hockey | Published: Thu 30 November 2017

The Hockeyroos and the Kookaburras have received their draws for the preliminary rounds of the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games after the International Hockey Federation made the announcement on Tuesday.

Tuesday's announcement saw the ten men's and ten women's teams divided into two pools of five, dependent on their World Rankings.

As the world number two the Kookaburras have been placed in Pool A alongside New Zealand (8th), Canada (11th), South Africa (15th) and Scotland (23rd).
The fourth ranked women will compete in Pool B, taking on New Zealand (5th), Scotland (18th), Canada (21st) and Ghana (30th).
Both Australian sides will have a lot to play for as the Kookaburras chase their sixth consecutive Commonwealth gold and the Hockeyroos, their fourth.
Kookaburras captain Mark Knowles said, "it's really exciting to know the nations we will be facing during the preliminary matches as we look to keep our Commonwealth Games' gold medal run going."
"Naturally we are looking forward to rekindling our rivalry with neighbours New Zealand and we know the competition is going to be fierce throughout the preliminary rounds."
"I know everyone involved in Australian hockey is looking forward to the prospect of defending our gold medal in our own backyard."
Each team will play the other teams in their pool once between the 5th and 11th of April before the top two teams from each pool advance to the semi-finals.
Both of Australia's hockey squads currently boast a number of Western Australian athletes, all of which will be vying for a position at next year's Commonwealth Games.
The Kookaburras will commence their Gold Coast 2018 campaign on the 7th of April at 2:30pm (AWST) against South Africa whilst the Hockeyroos will face Canada on the 5th of April, also at 2:30pm (AWST). 
Kookaburras Fixtures-
7/4 @ 2:30pm (AWST) v South Africa
8/4 @ 7:30pm (AWST) v Scotland
10/4 @ 2:30pm (AWST) v Canada
11/4 @ 2:30pm (AWST) v New Zealand
Hockeyroos Fixtures-
5/4 @ 2:30pm (AWST) v Canada
7/4 @ 7:30pm (AWST) v Ghana
9/4 @ 7:30pm (AWST) v New Zealand
10/4 @ 7:30pm (AWST) v Scotland 
  • Annika Lee-Jones